#31 Alessia Anniballo from Italy

1. How and why did you choose to go nomadic?

I worked for a year and half for a network of coworking spaces, everyday I met digital nomads and freelancers, who passed by our spaces to work there few days or few months before leaving for the next destination. I was totally fascinated by this lifestyle, I thought I wanted to become one of them and be always ready to move somewhere else. I’ve always tried to travel as much as I can. I don’t buy cool bags or super expensive shoes, I prefer to invest my money on a flight ticket to somewhere.

2. What was it like leaving your home country?

I can’t say that I don’t miss it, of course I do, but I also enjoy discover new places, meet new people and explore new cultures. It was easy for me to leave, I was, and I’m still, so excited to travel and to see what’s next. Only sometimes I really miss my mother’s lasagna and catching up with my old friends for a beer.

3. What are your biggest struggles? Fears?

I’m scared that one day I’ll open my bank account and I’ll find no money on it and that I’ll not be able to come back or to find a new job quickly enough. I have this fear since I decided to leave my parents’ house and live alone. Nobody thought I could have managed to work and study and be completely economic independent at 19 years old, I did it, but it still remains my big fear.

Apart from this, I’m comfortable with last minute decisions and unexpected events.

4. How are you funding your lifestyle and what projects are you working on?

I worked as Business Development Consultant for a year now. I was lucky because I found two medium term projects to work on, so I didn’t have to struggle looking for other clients. Currently I’m working for a translations company. I’m helping them to set up the marketing department.

5. What is the estimated monthly cost of living for one of your favorite locations? What lifestyle does that afford?

I decided to be based in Malta, where the cost of living really depends on which city you live in. I currently live in the poshy area, so I don’t need a car and I can walk around and reach all the facilities easily. I live with my boyfriend, so I don’t have to pay an entire flat on my own. Monthly, we spend around 1200$ each, including rent, food and means of transport. It really depends on your lifestyle, if you go out every night, you’ll never manage to live with 1200$ per month. Especially for food, you can be full with 2 euro, if you go to the pastizzeria (a local bakery), where a pastry costs 0.40$, or you can spend 70$ each for a fish dinner in a sea-view restaurant.

6. What is your top tip for someone who aspires to earn money online and travel?

Be realistic. Many people wrote me in the past months that they really envied me and they really liked to quit their job and travel. You should have a plan and sometime you can’t travel full time. You can’t just quit your job all of a sudden. My decision could seem crazy, but I planned it, I saved money, I made some research, I built a great professional network and then, only then, I did it. Be brave, but not too much.